Starting today, car seat or booster seat required for kids under 8 | Families
DENVER -- Police statewide start enforcing a new child safety seat requirement in Colorado Monday.
The new law raises the car seat or booster seat requirement to include children under age 8. Previously, the law required car seats for children under age 6.
The expanded child passenger safety law passed in 2010, but the state conducted a year-long education period to inform parents and caregivers about the change.
"It took me by surprise," said Wendy Macha of Westminster. Her 6-year-old son Emmett has been out of a booster for more than a year. "I don't have a booster seat. I haven't had one since he was 45 pounds," she said.
Under the new law, a child's weight and height are no longer the only determining factors.
"The booster seat portion of the law does not have a weight requirement or a height requirement, only an age requirement," said Vera Fullaway, spokesperson for Colorado Child Passenger Safety Program. That new requirement effects kids under eight.
Authorities start enforcing the law Monday.
The Colorado State Patrol says that 20 children, ages 4 through 7, died in crashes in Colorado from 2006 to 2010.
Eleven of those children were unrestrained or improperly restrained.
Drivers could be fined $82 for not complying with the car seat requirement.
The expanded law also has the following minimum requirements:
- Babies under 1 year old and less than 20 pounds must ride in a rear-facing car seat and only in the back seat of the vehicle.
- Once babies turn 1 year old and weigh at least 20 pounds, the law gives them the option of using a front-facing car seat. Rear-facing car seats are still allowed by law and safety experts recommend that parents continue using them to the upper weight limit allowed by the car seat manufacturer because it provides the most protection.
- Children ages 4, 5, 6 and 7 must continue to be protected in a child safety restraint. For most kids in this age group that means a booster seat, but experts recommend that children remain in a forward- facing car seat longer if the upper weight limit of the seat allows it (usually 40-50 pounds).
- When a child turns 8, the law allows them to use a vehicle seat belt. But for the best protection, safety experts recommend that kids continue to use a booster seat until they are at least 4’9” tall, which half of children will not reach until they are 11 years old.
Upcoming Events near Castle Rock
Most popular stories from nearby communities
- Multi-vehicle crash closes NB I-25 in south metro Denver, several hurt
- Water main break may close Centennial street for multiple days
- Broncos coach John Fox, 700 other men get together to fight breast cancer
- Explosions, 3 floors engulfed during 2-alarm Centennial condo fire
- Second robber convicted after victim fought off two attackers with a hammer
- Someone may be shooting randomly at cars on Jefferson County highways
- Group threatens to sue charter school over students’ charitable project
- Ramp from EB C-470 to NB I-25 closed for emergency repairs
- Tip about explosive device leads to bomb squad search at Chatfield H.S.
- 7th grader’s beer experiment heading to International Space Station
- Police: Man tries to lure Parker teens into vehicle attached to camper
- Former Littleton officer pleads guilty to firearm, drug trafficking crimes
- VIDEO: Residents spot moose wandering loose in Parker
- Family: Lost dogs were re-adopted before they had a chance to claim them
- Pizza business concerned about impact of possible King Soopers expansion